My Favorite Place On Earth

img_6064The beach is my favorite place in the world.  Not a tropical, warm beach, but the cold, damp, salty Oregon Beach.  Where the morning mist soaks, freezing water numbs and the weather changes faster than, than, well it just changes fast.  It’s a beautiful place full of charm, grit and beauty.  I could live there, truly.

I’ve asked myself many times why I love the beach so much and I think I’ve found the answer:  God seems to show up there for me.  I know He’s everywhere, whether I’m at the beach or not, but I notice Him there more.  With every crashing wave, every seagull chirp, every footprint in the sand, every whiff of ocean air, every seashell found, I’m reminded of God’s power, creativeness and attention to detail.

Folks always seem to be nice and relaxed there also.  It’s a great place to people watch.  Dogs are roaming the wide open space, families are creating memories and kids are getting sand everywhere….it’s beautiful.

I think we all need find a spot like this…somewhere to unwind and disconnect a bit.  The pace of our daily lives can be hard to maintain at times….endless shuffling and texting and calling and travelling and organizing and committing and helping and serving and…..stressing.  Taking time to refocus on what matter helps us be better people.  Period.

All of our “places” of rest are different.  For some it’s the mountains, while others prefer Disneyland or camping or a tropical island or a coffee shop or their own bedroom.  It doesn’t matter, just find it and hit the life-pause-button from time to time.  You’ll be glad you did.

What’s your favorite place to find solitude or rest?

God Bless,

Paul

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “My Favorite Place On Earth

  1. Yes! Pause buttons are key!
    My favorite places are where I can just stop and breathe. I did it at the beach this last weekend, but I’ve also taken precious moments on a walk just outside my back door, or walking with my mom. Or kicking back in my home office, playing a game or writing. It’s all good. Thanks for the reminder, Paul.

    Like

    • You’re right Kristi, stopping and taking a breath is so important. You’re also right in that sometimes we can find rest in the simplest of ways…actually, sometimes the simple things provide the best comfort and relief, truly. As always, thanks for sharing Kristi, I value your views!

      Like

Leave a Reply

