Why Getting Old Is Awesome

Getting OlderThe other day, I looked in the mirror and saw these weird lines next to my eyes…..I think they’re called wrinkles or something.  Apparently they’ve been there for a while.  Thanks wifey for pointing that out 😉

Something that we all have in common is this:  WE ARE ALL GETTING OLDER!

At the ripe age of 35, I’m constantly being reminded of how old I’m getting.  My knees, back, neck and feet hurt randomly, my energy isn’t what it used to be, I have a grey spot on the side of my head, my metabolism is slower, the list could go on…..that’s just part of life I guess.

The temptation is to be depressed about these changes…totally an easy thing to do.  Lately though, I’ve been really trying to change my focus.  I’m learning to be grateful for every sign of aging that I’ve seen vs. pouting because the inevitable is happening.

Getting older isn’t just about physical changes.  The years have brought some good things like wisdom, knowledge, experiences and blessings.  They’ve also brought challenges, obstacles, failures and loss.  All of which have grown my character and life-outlook.  It’s an evolving process for sure and it takes an intentional effort to see the good.  We need intentionality because there’s a steady battle raging….

Culture is constantly telling us that getting older is a bad thing…..lift, tuck, cover, diet, anti-wrinkle stuff, anti-aging pills, anti-whatever….all these things are meant to delay the inevitable truth that we can’t turn back time!  Why not embrace our changes?  Why not use the wisdom that we’ve gained to make a difference in other’s lives?  It really is all about perspective.

As I take inventory of my aging self, I’m feeling more grateful than anything else.  Every grey hair means that I’ve been blessed with seconds, minutes, hours, days and years to live.  I am so lucky to have survived this long and experienced what I’ve experienced.  There are many folks who haven’t made it this far due to a variety of reasons.  The straight up truth is that we’re not entitled to a single second.  God’s the only one in control.

This brings me to my last and most important piece of encouragement that I’ve held on to: I know that each day brings me closer to meeting Jesus face to face.  There’s hope in that.  Without my faith, the temptation to give in to mediocrity, fear and shallowness would be too great….I would eventually settle or crumble.  I’m sure of that.  Jesus is my beginning and Jesus is my end.  I’m so grateful that He’s my end!

I totally understand that this way of thinking is challenging and unpopular….you know, the whole “be thankful for your sagginess” thing and the “I’m one step closer to meeting Jesus” thing.  I get that.

We all absolutely have the choice of how to handle life’s cycle.  My hope is that we handle things with joy and dignity and anticipation,

Let’s not let age depress us.  Let’s not let age suppress us.  Let’s not let age define us.  For we are blessed to be in our skin, no matter the color or texture or feel….it’s ours after all and it’s gifted to us by a loving Creator.

Let it all hang out!  Be Free!  Wait…..not like that.  Ok, just be happy with who you are.  That’s better.

God Bless,

Paul

 

4 thoughts on “Why Getting Old Is Awesome

  1. As always, so well said. An excellent perspective that is timely for many of us. It’s so easy to look at our ourselves negatively, when in fact, we should be thanking God for each little ‘unique gift.’

    Like

Leave a Reply

