God and Pancakes

PancakesMaking breakfast for my family is one of my most favorite things to do.

There’s nothing like a Saturday morning, fresh cup of coffee in hand, cooking breakfast while the family peacefully lounges in the living room.  Perfection.

I usually will put some worship music on and pray during these windows of opportunity.  I guess you could say that it’s a time that God and I have set aside to hang out.

One morning, not too long ago, I was making pancakes.  The music was playing and I was talking to God as usual when suddenly, BAM!  I got totally overwhelmed by His presence.  Tears were flowing and I just felt still and complete.  Have you ever experienced that?  It’s one of those times that’s really hard to explain….the only words that I can think of are “peace” and “clarity” and “confidence” and “humbleness” and “joy.”  Even those words fall short of what His presence feels like.

Anywho, God showed up that day in a way that I didn’t really expect.  He likes to do that.  He likes to keep us on our toes.  He likes to remind us that we can’t control Him or put Him in a nice little box.  I’m grateful for these reminders.

I’m learning to always keep myself available for His little surprise visits.  To seek Him out the best that I can.

The funny thing is that He’s always around.  Maybe He just knows when we’re prepared to handle His presence….when His touch will make the most difference in our lives.  He knows us pretty well.

Life can be exciting and powerful when we look for God….better yet, great stuff happens when we EXPECT Him to show up in new and fresh ways every day….knowing that we serve a God who promises to show up…maybe in ways that we don’t expect, but He shows up nonetheless.

Do me a favor and join me in turning over rocks, breathing the crisp air, observing the sunrise or sunset, enjoying good fellowship….doing all these things in hopes of catching a glimpse of God’s presence….of His strength….of His beauty….of His peace.

You may be pleasantly surprised and powerfully impacted when you find out He’s been around you this whole time!

 

God Bless,

Paul

 

 

2 thoughts on “God and Pancakes

Leave a Reply

