Putting Thoughts Into Action

please helpEvery single year during the holidays, I think about how I can serve others.  How I can give back.  How I can make an impact on somebody’s life for the good.

I imagine scenarios where I buy somebody’s groceries, or I pay somebody’s car off, or I show up in a Santa Claus costume and bring presents to kids in need.  My mind gets pretty creative during these daydreams.

Don’t get me wrong, these are great things to think about….better yet, these are awesome things that folks should be doing for each other.  On a personal level, that’s where I struggle….the whole DOING part.

Typically, I have a lot of ideas.  I think about them for a bit and then they subside after facing an obstacle or I can’t see the final outcome.  It’s kind of lazy really, and I’m fully guilty of that.

I’M SLOWLY STARTING TO CHANGE THOUGH.

Last Saturday, a couple buddies of mine and I went downtown Portland and fed some homeless folks.

The idea blossomed from a simple conversation at our church small group.  My friend David has a passion for feeding the homeless and helping them out with other basic needs such as providing clothes, toiletries and blankets for them.  So we talked about how cool it would be to serve in a soup kitchen or something like that.

Randomly, after that conversation, I thought about how cool it would be to simply make PB&J sandwiches and hand them out to folks on the street…..no church affiliation or anything, just a couple of us with willing feet to walk and willing hands to give…long story short, we ended up putting the talking into action.  Simple sandwiches turned into sack lunches, toiletries, cocoa, coffee, candy canes, granola bars, pears and peppermint patties 🙂  It’s beautiful how ideas evolve sometimes!

We all had the chance to serve together, to feel sympathy together, to get soaked in the rain together, to love together and most importantly, to be Jesus’s hands and feet together.

None of this would have happened if thoughts only stayed as thoughts.  Action happened….beautiful action….and the rest is history.

The moral of the story is this: Please don’t let time slip by as you sit on the sidelines.  If you feel inspired to help someone or bless someone, FREAKING DO IT!  Whether it’s the holidays or a Tuesday, Let your “DO” loose!  You and those you’re blessing won’t regret it!

 

God Bless,

Paul

.

 

 

Leave a Reply

