The Day I Witnessed Freedom on the Dance Floor

Kid DancingWe went to a wedding a couple of weeks ago and we had a great time.  It’s always a beautiful thing to see two people come together, in love, with Christ at the center.

My youngest son, Will didn’t care much for the ceremony, the sitting and the waiting.  I guess you can’t blame him for that.  He was only concerned with one thing…….when the dancing would start.  The dude loves to dance.  Seriously, his little 2-year-old body is a never-ending ball of energy.

When the evening sky grew dim, the overhead lights became brighter and the temperature began to cool, it was time.  It was time to get down on the dance floor!

From the second the music started, to the second we left, the dude was cutting a rug like no one else.  Jump’n, jive’n, shake’n, spin’n, you name it, he made it happen.  He was a dancing machine and quite the popular fellow.

I found myself joining others in just staring at him, smiling, clapping and cheering him on.  There was something so simple and refreshing about observing him just being a kid, oblivious to the world around him, lost in the beats and the rhythms and the lights leaping off the floor.  He was free.  Perhaps our admiration of him had something to do with our own desire to let loose.

Dang, I want that kind of freedom.  As adults, I think we would all give our left arm for it.

Somewhere along the line, we lost the ability to fully relax, kick our feet up and just be ourselves….the once-common freedom that we had as kids seems to be buried beneath the responsibilities of life.

So we’re left searching for those moments of inspiration, sometimes vicariously through little kids.  Thank God for them.  They’re great teachers.

Sure, I’m partial to my little guy, but honestly, he inspires me.  Through all of the “why’s” and “how come’s” and “what kind’s” and “why not’s” lies an innocent, joy-filled heart that’s made of gold.

I think there’s a reason why God uses children as examples in the bible.  He wants us to be simple like them.  Not only in our faith, but in the way we question, in the way we interact, in the way we love and in the way we live…..maybe, just maybe, that’s the beginning of true freedom.

“For an answer Jesus called over a child, whom he stood in the middle of the room, and said, “I’m telling you, once and for all, that unless you return to square one and start over like children, you’re not even going to get a look at the kingdom, let alone get in. Whoever becomes simple and elemental again, like this child, will rank high in God’s kingdom. What’s more, when you receive the childlike on my account, it’s the same as receiving me.” – Matthew 18:3 (MSG)

God Bless,

Paul

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “The Day I Witnessed Freedom on the Dance Floor

  1. Sweet! I remember some of my own carefree moments as a kid – for example sitting upside down on the seat in the school bus, feet in the air, or singing at the top of my lungs in the back yard – and I remember getting chided and embarrassed out of that freedom. (Well, it probably wasn’t safe to sit like that!) Is it extra sad that I can recall getting that freedom ground out of me?

    Well, I think I have regained some of that as I age. Being true to my values and living in integrity has become more important than what others think. Although I still don’t like to dance! 😦

    Great story and thanks for sharing.

    Like

    • Great story Kristi and such a prime example of the freedom that pretty much all of us lost years ago. Yes, it’s sad that you remember the freedom leaving, but I think it’s an unfortunate reality. I appreciate your individuality. You’ve always seemed like yourself and you’re right, there is freedom in that realization. As always, your point of view is always welcomed!

      Like

Leave a Reply

