Living Out What We Believe

HelpingHave you ever read a great story, watched an inspiring movie or heard an amazing testimony that compelled you to take action in some way?  Maybe your perspective was changed.  Maybe you felt encouraged to take a leap of faith.  Maybe you felt empathy for someone or something because of your experience.

What you witnessed left you with the desire to act.  I would even venture to say that inwardly, you had no choice but to act, to change, to rest in the revelation.

For those of us who fall under the label of “Christians”, what does our faith look like?  Are we walking witnesses, trusting Jesus to guide our steps or are we tired and timid, wearing the name of Christ as clothing, easily removable at will.

I have been a Christian for a long time.  I was raised in the church and surrounded by “all things Christian” my whole life.  Becoming complacent is definitely something to watch when you’ve been around a belief structure so long.

It’s so easy to fall into the comfortable trap of doing Christian things, checking off the list for Christ.  Going through the motions without allowing the heart-change.

Unfortunately, I think there are many Christians who fall under this category.  Wandering around like a bunch of zombies, following tradition, rules and procedures, all the while, forgetting about their 1st love, Jesus Christ.

Don’t get me wrong, I’ve been there.  Looking back, I was a judgemental jerk at times.  Using my bible as a weapon, not for love.  I’ve grown up since then, but I’m certainly not perfect either.

Here’s the thing, when we’ve been gripped by God’s love, it SHOULD transform us.  It SHOULD mold us.  It SHOULD flip our freaking worlds upside down!

I’m not saying that we suddenly become theologians or scholars or saints.  What happens is actually quite simple.  Our perspective is altered, our heart is more sensitive and our love for others increases.  Most importantly, our view of eternity and God Himself becomes more intimate and real.  It’s a supernatural thing, not a common sense thing.

What we need these days from Christians, more than ever, is conviction of the spirit and the courage to love boldly.  I speak for myself here.  It’s something that I pray for constantly.

By conviction, I mean the yearning or urging to live out what God has worked in.  To be a witness in our words AND deeds.  That’s the key.

Now someone may argue, “Some people have faith; others have good deeds.” But I say, “How can you show me your faith if you don’t have good deeds? I will show you my faith by my good deeds.” – James 2:18 (NLT)

To clarify, it’s not just a do-good thing.  It’s a have-faith-in-Jesus-and-the-rest-will-follow kind of thing.  It comes naturally over time.

The world is dark.  Would YOU be bold enough to be the light that brings hope?  Would YOU be bold enough to be the love amidst the hate?  Would YOU be bold enough to share the story about a man named Jesus and why you have chosen to follow Him?

Faith without action is dead.  Action without faith is dead.  Let’s let others see Jesus’s imprint on our deeds, our words, in our lives and sparkling in our eyes.  It’s what we were created to do after all.

Let’s live up to the label we place on ourselves, by God’s grace.  Go get ’em.

God Bless,

Paul

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Living Out What We Believe

  1. I agree whole heartedly with everything you’re saying. The issue for me, (another non-perfect Christian constantly striving to show love) isn’t just ‘walking the walk’ so to speak, it’s doing it CONSISTENTLY and having the fortitude to continue even when you feel like stopping. To show love, to give grace freely as Christ does to us, with no strings attached, with no recognition or love shown in return. I may sound like a complete idiot and meany for saying that, but it’s the truth sometimes. Occasionally, it hurts to be the one that always tries to be the ‘love
    giver.’ Emotions run high and wide when love of any kind enters the mix… Then throw in imperfect humans… And a touch of the devil trying to overturn us… And it gets tough. But I’ll take tough over the alternative. I’ll take a life filled with Jesus. Yes please!

    Like

    • I love your honesty dear, thank you. You’re right, consistency, day in and day out is so tough. I think that’s why God’s grace covers us all day, everyday. What a blessing to be able to wake up and start over each day. You are a giver and God’s given you the gift of hospitality. Giving without seeking anything in return is hard to do, but can be so rewarding when we make a habit of it, as you know. I guess, when I give, if I see it as giving to God, it helps change my perspective. That’s what works for me. Thanks for your heart, I’m pretty darn lucky.

      Like

Leave a Reply

