When’s Risk Worth It?

boy and girlIt was a normal day, well kind of.  I was downstairs in my basement, heart beating, pulse thumping, sweat beading…..I was going to ask a girl out over the phone.

I met her at church camp and a crush developed.  To be honest, I thought she was way out of my league, but I had to give it a shot.

The conversation paused, my senses were keen and the musty smell of the concrete room faded away.  I took a quick glance over my shoulder to make sure nobody was around.  I had to spit it out….so I did.  “Will you go out with me?”  The pause was long, torturous and agonizing.  All I could do was play with the phone cord and wait for the response…and so it came: “I’ll call you back, I have to think about it.”  Well, it wasn’t a definite “no”, but it surely wasn’t even close to a “yes.”  Crap!

A while later, she called back and declined the invitation to be my girlfriend.  I was pretty darn bummed and a little embarrassed.  It’s part of life though.  Even our worst times can contribute to our best times.

My attempt at high school romance was a risk.  It didn’t quite end as I hoped it would and that’s ok.  Isn’t that the nature of risk?

I could have never asked at all.  It would have been the safer option.  In my eyes, the possible reward was greater than the risk, so I gave it a go.

Here’s the thing, I believe risk always comes with a reward.  Even if the result is completely different from what was anticipated, there’s always a lesson to be learned.  That’s priceless.

I’m a safe guy by nature and I prefer comfort and predictability.  It’s taken many years to break myself of the temptation to just sit on the sidelines.  Sure, I’m more conservative than most folks, but I’m learning to loosen the chains a bit.

Just to be clear, there is a big difference between taking a risk and being reckless.  God’s given us all a brain for a reason……finding the balance between playing it safe and “getting our feet wet” is the key.

We’re all faced with opportunities to step outside the box.  Whether it be involving our faith, careers, relationships or whatever.  Those who have made the greatest impact in our world have taken risks….some have been more calculated than others.

We can all feel the nudge to take a step forward.  The question is this: will you have the courage to take that step?

God Bless,

Paul

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “When’s Risk Worth It?

  1. I can’t believe there’s a story I had yet to hear! My Pauly 🙂

    Great topic to write about. I think many of us tend to fall heavily onto one side or another: either too risky, or too comfortable. I know it’s no surprise to you that your dear wife falls into the latter. You’re right though… There’s no harm in shooting for the stars. I’m happy I have you to be risky with.

    Oh my.. That sounded dirty.

    Like

    • Thanks for reading dear. You and I tend to fall into the comfortable category, but we’re working to find that balance. By God’s grace, He’s bringing us to that middle ground. It’s nice to have that balance. Love you.

      Like

  2. A friend of mine once said when it comes to risk, there are two kinds of people in the world: those who are afraid and don’t risk, and those who are afraid and do it anyway.

    In matters of love, I sat it out most often, but looking back I took some pretty bold risks. Some I nearly regret, except for the lessons I learned.

    I tend to feel like I don’t take risks in life, but then again, if I didn’t risk, I’d still be living in Portland, and I would not be running my second business. I wouldn’t have learned to drive a truck or ride a motorcycle, or bought a house on my own. I guess I take risks when it counts. And I usually gather a lot of information before I step out, but the information only takes me so far; there comes a time when I just jump, and make it up as I go along.

    Good topic.

    Like

    • You and I are pretty similar Kristi. I take more calculated risks. I have to think about things for awhile before I jump. Making it up as we go along is great….following God’s leading is even better and more challenging at times. Faith can feel pretty risky at times. Thanks for the great comment.

      Like

Leave a Reply

