Be You

NerdGrowing up, all I ever wanted to do was fit in.  To be “normal”, whatever “normal” was.

I wanted to wear the same clothes as the other kids.  I wanted to listen to the same music, watch the same shows and get into the same trouble.

I remember my 1st car….it was a 1985 Subaru XT.  It was red, with flip-up lights, with no radio and it looked like a wedge of cheese.  I carried a boom box in the back seat to listen to music and I always had a stash of batteries around, just in case.  It was awesome.

At the time, I don’t think I fully grasped how awesome it was though.  Sure, the “red rocket” was goofy and quirky and imperfect and unconventional, just like me…….but I still wanted the cool cars like many of my friends were driving.

I wanted to be like them and I surely wasn’t comfortable just being me….quirky old me.

A few years later, I bought a newer car with college loans.  It was a white Honda Civic.  At the time, it felt good to finally have a “normal” car.  To blend in a bit.  No one really cared other than me, but I thought they did.

As I’ve grown older, the pretentious pressures have faded away and I am focused more on how I can mirror Jesus by just being me.  There’s freedom in this.

Sometimes, I find myself reflecting back on who I used to be.  You know, the whole self-progress-report.  Sure, we shouldn’t live in the past, that’s not productive.  We must not forget what things have contributed to who we are today though.  That’s important.

The chubby kid who loves soda, basketball and crispy bed sheets is still there, deep inside.  The class clown who loves video games, getting dirty and riding bikes is still there, deep inside.  The kickball champ who plays the violin in talent shows and hangs out with the “unpopular” kids is still there, deep inside.  All these things make up the equation that equals me.

Be you, that’s who you were created to be.  God has made you for a reason and a purpose.  We are all special because we are God’s creation.  Live it, believe it, share it!  The world would be boring without you!

God Bless,

Paul

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Be You

Leave a Reply

