She Was a Good Car

Selling CarToday, we sold our car.  It was our first new car and it still feels like we just brought it home.  We purchased it when life was much different.  I had just started a new job and we didn’t have any kids.

Fast forward 8 years and here we are…..we now have 2 beautiful boys, 2 & 6 years old.  My wife is now an AMAZING stay-at-home-mom and I am still working at the same great place.  Our new, inherited vehicle was my mother-in-law’s…..she passed away from cancer a few months ago.

Things sure have changed.  Ups, downs, career changes, health changes, life changes….pretty wild.

I’m gonna miss our car.  From the milk and coffee stains, to the cracker crumbs, to the apple juice splatters on the roof, to the beach trips taken, to the trips from the hospital with our freshly new baby boys…..good times.

I know it’s just a hunk of metal, but it was our hunk of metal.  It represents a large chunk of our lives.

So now it’s time to make new memories.  To spill more milk and spread more crumbs.  That’s how it works.  You close one chapter and begin another one.  It’s sad and fun at the same time.

I’m reminded today of how quickly life flies by….of how things never stay the same.  Most of all, I’m reminded of how temporary it all is.

I can’t imagine this world and our temporary conditions being all there is.

The only thing that lasts forever is my faith in Jesus.  My faith itself never changes, but the journey certainly does.  Each day is a new adventure and an opportunity to learn and make new memories.  God is good.

God Bless,

Paul

Leave a Reply

