Preparing for the Unavoidable

WillMy wife and I just met with a lawyer today to get a will made.  I have to admit, it’s kind of weird to think about.  You know, the whole “I’m gonna die someday, so let’s prepare” thing.  It really does reinforce the reality that life is short and that death is inevitable.

It’s strange to think of my boys living without me here.  That after I’m gone, all of my stuff will get divided.  That’s assuming that life will go as “planned”, without any tragedies or surprises along the way.

So, as I write this morbid post, there is the understanding that death is not a popular topic.  Some people avoid it like the plague.  On the other side of the coin, there are those who have a faith that welcomes death without fear.

Where do you stand?  Does the thought of not existing rattle your bones?  Does the uncertainty of “what’s next” cause fear and panic?  Are you looking for the “back” button so you don’t have to read the rest of this post?  For those of you who settle in this camp, I understand.

This world is full of uncertainty.  We think we have control, but we really don’t, at least not permanently.  The thought of losing that control is scary.  In order to tame the fear, we’re given self-help books to cope with what we are feeling.  We’re given drugs and medication.  We’re given advice on how we can “be our better selves.”  While some of these things are ok, they aren’t the solution to the fear, only a band-aid.  Death is still a reality, no matter what efforts we put forth.

There are also folks that face death with hope and courage.  They have faith that greater things await on the “other side.”  There are many different religions that believe very different things.

I happen to believe in Jesus Christ.  I believe that the Bible is the storybook of His life and a guide for ours.  I guess I can be tagged as a “Christian”, but I prefer the tag of “in a relationship” instead.  The relationship is not based on anything that I do, but on what Jesus has already done….contrary to the box that religion likes to place people in.  My relationship is fluid, constantly changing and full of grace.

Through my faith, I trust that a place called Heaven awaits.  I obviously have no idea what it’s like 1st hand, but I hear it’s pretty cool…..no sickness, no pain, no guilt or shame, no jealousy or envy, no death, only life, only peace, only joy….sounds pretty good to me.

The cool thing is that this hope is available to everyone…..without religion, without rules, without guilt or shame…..only belief in Jesus…who He was, what He did, and what He provides for those who love Him.  We don’t have to be afraid.

Or we can choose to believe in nothing.  It’s a choice that we have the freedom to make.

As I plan ahead, it’s not out of fear.  It’s out of the need to provide for my boys, that’s all.  I love my life here, but I know my next life will be awesome, far beyond any stretch of the imagination.

God Bless,

Paul

10 thoughts on “Preparing for the Unavoidable

  1. Collin and I did this exercise a few years ago. It was a little strange–not as morbid as doing the Living Will (or Advance Directive, if you will) but strange.

    I found it liberating, in a sense. We don’t have a lot of ‘stuff’, having worked fairly hard at thinning all that down. It was interesting to pause and think over the things we have left, and what is valuable enough to worry about passing along to a particular person. Of course, the money aspect–who gets whatever money we leave behind…we just handled that in a fairly arbitrary fashion. Equal shares.

    As for the question of whether ‘not existing’ rattles my bones…I don’t think so. I don’t know what happens when I shuffle off this mortal coil, as the Bard said. But I’m okay with that. I’ve done a lot of things in my life, crossed off most of the items on the old bucket list. There’s maybe a few more places I wouldn’t mind seeing, but if I never get there, I’m okay.

    I don’t know if you ever read Anne Rice’s “The Vampire Lestat”, where (the still mortal) Lestat has this revelation that there is “nothing” when you die, and he totally freaks out. Then he claims that he never really got over that horror. I used to think I should be freaked out by death, since that was ‘normal’ – but I’m really not. I think death takes a greater toll on those left behind.

    I think my soul chose to come here to learn some lesson, and when I have learned it, POP, there I’ll go. I have the sense that my goal is to live the life Jesus demonstrated. He told us “The Kingdom of Heaven is AT HAND.” To me, that means I just reach out and take it. I can find it here on Earth if I can let go of my ego long enough. Everything else is just life. I try not to take it personally.

    Like

    • Very thought provoking stuff as usual Kristi! Pam and I try to keep life simple as well, so it was easy for us to construct the will. Great point about those left behind being the most affected. It’s a strange dynamic. Living as Jesus lived is a great goal….one that none of us will reach, but one in which we can strive for….by His grace only. Good stuff and thanks for reading!

      Like

  2. I don’t think we should fear death. Those who are in Christ, they live by faith that they will live in heaven one day after they die. Why do we fear death? I guess because of pain and suffering. I believe there is a possibility that God would not let His righteous suffer at that last few moments is death where there is intensive pain. Because our God, JESUS CHRIST is loving. Being in Christ is like having a life insurance that sets you a peace of mind. Because of the faith and hope in the gift of salvation offered by JESUS CHRIST, our LORD and SAVIOR. The hope of eternal life. God bless you.

    Like

    • I agree completely. Losing control and fear of death often go hand-in-hand, I believe. The Bible gives us a snapshot of Heaven, but there’s still mystery there. I’m glad for the mystery. That our God and His Heaven are greater than our simple minds can handle. I want a big, unpredictable, powerful God to serve. I’m thankful that He’s not only big, unpredictable and powerful, but He is loving, patient and full of grace at the same time. Someday, those who love Christ will get to experience Him first-hand. What a blessing and what a hope! Thanks for the great comment.

      Like

      • I really love this verse:
        “But as it is written, Eye hath not seen, nor ear heard, neither have entered into the heart of man, the things which God hath prepared for them that love him.” 1 Corinthians 2:9

        Yes, there are so many mystery behind the bible. I really want to know them, especially heaven. There is so much meaning in every word.

        Our GOD is surely an awesome GOD to serve. When I think of HIS awesomeness, I would be so in awe and could be in fear, trembling, tears…I am so glad to have a GOD like HIM. I feel so blessed too!

        I love this part; GOD does not have love, for HE IS LOVE! HE created all things out of love. HE made us out of love completely and save us from damnation completely out of love.

        God bless you 🙂
        I enjoyed chatting with you!

        Like

Leave a Reply

