Little Eyes Are Watching

Dad and sonLately, I’m trying to be more aware of 2 little sets of eyes, always watching me.  My boys pay attention to everything that I do.  They repeat the words that I say, mimic how I move and observe my reactions to life.

My main job as their dad is to show them how to be men…..men of integrity, men who love Jesus, men who respect women, men who are servants, men who are humble and men who embody love.  As I attempt to achieve this, I’m always praying for opportunities to teach them things.  Whether it’s big things or small things, it doesn’t matter.

For example, we were on our way to dinner last night and there was a truck in front of us that had just broken down.  It was stuck at a light, right at an intersection.  I decided to jump out and help push the truck through the intersection, over to a safe place.  We made it happen and all was well.  I hopped back in the car and we were on our way.

My boys thought it was pretty funny to see me out there, pushing this random truck down the road.  I’m sure it looked funny.  After the laughter subsided, we had the chance to talk about the importance of helping others.  It worked out well and I thank God for the opportunity to share the lesson.

That was a positive lesson to teach my boys.  On the other hand, I’ve also had the humbling experience of teaching them how NOT to do things…..based on my mess-ups of course.  They’ve seen me lose my cool in traffic, screaming “idiot!” at the car in front of me.  They’ve experienced my wrath directed at them for something small and unnecessary.  They’ve seen me get frustrated at doing projects around the house.  The list could go on.

When I mess up, I try to apologize quickly.  I’m a firm believer that a true man is one who is willing to admit his faults.  To admit when he is wrong and to have the courage to say, “I’m sorry.”  So, when the opportunity presents itself, I like my sons to know that their daddy isn’t perfect.  Better yet, I want them to know that I don’t expect them to be perfect either.  I think love and respect grows when there’s the freedom to be less-than-perfect.

Overall, there’s a lot of responsibility in being a dad.  It’s a responsibility that I’m willing to shoulder.  Actually, it’s one that I’m honored to shoulder.

It’s cool to know that I can set the foundation for their future….with God’s grace and help for sure.  I know they may choose a different direction as they grow older.  I just hope that the learning and love that they learn now will somehow provide a level, solid path for them to follow throughout life.

I’m a blessed man.

God Bless,

Paul

5 thoughts on “Little Eyes Are Watching

  1. “Train up a child in the way he should go, And when he is old he will not depart from it.” Proverbs 22:6

    “My main job as their dad is to show them how to be men…..men of integrity, men who love Jesus, men who respect women, men who are servants, men who are humble and men who embody love. As I attempt to achieve this, I’m always praying for opportunities to teach them things. Whether it’s big things or small things, it doesn’t matter.”

    AMEN to that! 😉 keep it up! 🙂 I really admire your heart to train up your children into godliness. 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

