GO USE YOUR GIFTS, DUDE!

TalentI’ve been thinking a lot about who God created me to be.  To what extent should I be using the gifts that He has given me?  Better yet, what in the world ARE the gifts that He has given me?

I have a heart for children.  I love to encourage.  I have a new-found passion for writing.  These are the first 3 things that come to mind.  So what do I do with them?

Well, I guess I need to love on kids, encourage others and write a lot.  Sounds simple doesn’t it?  I guess it is, but we complicate things.  Ok, I speak for myself….I am really good at complicating things.

Each and every person has a gift, or talent, or skill, or passion, or conviction to share with the world.  God designed it that way.  We are created to be in relationship and to help each other grow.

Sometimes, it takes a while to discover our “calling.”  Sometimes, the “calling” comes on us suddenly….like mine did about writing, as I was driving down the freeway.

Other times, our talent can be right in front of us, hiding amidst the craziness of life.  It could be something small like making a craft for someone, or offering a smile.  Maybe fixing a car or helping the elderly with yard work….everyday stuff that can make an eternal difference.

So often, we find ourselves waiting for the defining moments, don’t we?  The big opportunities.  The major breakthroughs.  The chance to shine.

God’s not interested in the big stuff only.  He’s interested in our response to His calling, no matter how “menial” it may be.  May we have enough courage to follow the whisper that is in our hearts to go, to be of use, to make an impact…..for Jesus, not ourselves.

There’s a quote on my fridge that says; “When I stand before God at the end of my life, I would hope I would not have any talent left and I could say, “I used everything you gave me.”  I hope to be able to say this someday.

What gifts and talents do you have?  How can God use you as His hands and feet?

God Bless,

Paul

4 thoughts on “GO USE YOUR GIFTS, DUDE!

  1. My talents also lie in writing, and proofreading. I’ve been told I have a gift (the actual quote is “you are a freakin’ legend!”) at spotting wrong word choices, missing words, and misspelled words.

    It is a compulsion to me to mark errors when I find them in books, and I have taken to writing to the authors and asking them if they’d like to see my notes. Most of them are grateful. I also proof for money, but I am not in it to make scads of money. I average about $2-3/hour when all is said and done, but I do it for the indie authors who can’t afford the high rates most proofreaders and editors charge.

    So I use my gift to help others trying to share their gifts, and I feel blessed that I can essentially donate my time to doing this. I make enough money at it that I can donate money to others in need. Like a woman I know whose husband couldn’t afford to bury his grandmother when she died, and the blind author being thrown out of his house that the city condemned – so they can use his property for a new ballpark they’re building next door. And to help support a friend of mine living on a wing and a prayer as she pursues her lifelong dream of going to film school.

    In a world where so much garbage is going on, I try to help bring a little light by supporting the art that people make. It is a little selfish of me, because if I didn’t support the light, I would be spiraling down in the darkness.

    This is my way of putting into play my own “rage, rage against the dying of the light.”

    Like

    • Man Kristi, you’re an inspiration! If I ever get to the point of writing a book, I would love to have you take a look at my writing. You are a prime example of using your gifts to bless others. The beautiful thing is that you are being blessed through your generosity. It’s amazing how God works, isn’t it?

      Like

  2. This is a fantastic post that MANY (everyone!) can relate to. Like you said, we all have a God given gift(s), it’s just being still enough to hear and feel the nudge that matters. Then following through on what the Spirit guides is to do of course. It’s exciting really, thinking that we have something within us that God sees as a true gift or calling of sorts, something special that Je have just to is to make a difference. It makes me excited!! Thanks for this post hun, great job as always.

    Like

    • Thanks Pammers, I appreciate your comments and support. It is exciting, I agree. We all have “something” inside of us, God just brings it out at the right time, His time. All we have to do is listen 1st and then have the courage to respond.

      Like

Leave a Reply

