Learning How to Receive

Give and Receive

Sometimes it’s easier for me to give than to receive.  You ever feel that way?

My wife and I are currently learning how important it is to do both.

Love is a special thing.  It’s special because it goes both ways.  It takes a giver and a receiver.  It’s also good to switch the roles every once in a while.  It keeps life balanced and it keeps relationships fresh.

As I’ve stated in previous posts, we lost a great woman recently, my wife’s mom.  During this process, we have been on the receiving end of many hugs, meals, cards, flowers and condolences.  Most of all, we have been on the receiving end of love.  It’s humbling really.  To let your guard down, accept love and to simply say, “thank you.”

The truth is that giving and loving not only affects the person on the receiving end.  The person giving the love is also touched.  What a beautiful thing.

So, I guess, my wife and I have both learned a very valuable lesson lately: ALLOWING ONESELF TO BE VULNERABLE ENOUGH TO ACCEPT LOVE, IN IT’S MANY FORMS,  IS TRULY LIVING.

God Bless,

Paul

2 thoughts on “Learning How to Receive

  1. I still sometimes try to talk people out of giving me a compliment. “Oh, this old thing?” “I washed my hair and I can’t do a thing with it.” “It’s just something I couldn’t talk myself out of buying.” Those were literally things I would say to ‘pshaw’ a compliment, because I didn’t think I was worthy. Until I finally realized I was pushing away a gift. I finally learned to say “Thank you.” Most of the time.

    I’m happy to hear you are learning to receive. Such a sad thing – sad for those left behind, anyway – but giving yourself permission to receive is a gift to yourself to help ease the sadness, so you can focus on the memories of your loved one, and celebrate her life and the ways she touched you. That is indeed a blessing.

    I’ll keep holding you and your loved ones in my heart and prayers. Bless you.

    Like

    • Thanks Kristi. I can totally relate to the “pshaw” moments. I get it. It sounds like you are learning to receive too! Very cool and thanks again for your thoughts and prayers…much needed. God bless.

      Like

Leave a Reply

