What My Bride Has Taught Me – 10 Years Down the Road

My brother got married !!

Well, we’ve hit a milestone.  As of Nov. 1, today in fact, my wife and I have been married for 10 years.  Time sure flies by doesn’t it?

I’ve learned a lot over the last 10 years…..from things as small as not peeing on the toilet seat to bigger things, deeper things, life things.

I’ve learned how to both give and receive love better.  I’ve learned how to communicate better.  I’ve learned how to be a man.  I’ve learned how to be a father.  I’ve learned how to say “I don’t know” and “I’m sorry”.  I’ve learned how to be humble.  I’ve learned how to lead and how to follow.  I’ve learned that pride can wreck things quickly.  I’ve learned grace and forgiveness.  I’ve learned that struggles often result in victories.  I’ve learned that, when God is at the center, beautiful things happen.

In many ways, my wife has taught me how to live.  She has shown me that sharing with and loving others is truly living.  Her outstretched hand never becomes weary and her love never grows cold.  For this, I am grateful.

I have experienced the transforming power of God in her life.  God’s stamp is on her walk, her words and especially her smile.  Have you seen her smile?  It’s pretty amazing.

I have learned what it means to not care about what other people think.  Her confidence in herself, her faith and her family is contagious and inspiring.

I’ve learned how to be a better dad by watching her kick butt as a mom.  She would do anything for our boys…anything.  Her committment to provide, care for, comfort, and feed them is comforting to see as a husband and father.  When I go to work everyday, I know that those boys will be embraced, fed well and showered with love.

Well, I’ve just scratched the surface, really.  I don’t think the learning will ever end…..I have a long, long way to go.  I’m ok with that, it keeps life interesting.  One thing I know for sure is that I couldn’t ask for a better woman to learn from and to do life with.

Let’s crack the bubbly!  Today is a celebration!  Here’s to many more years my love and friend.  Happy 10th.

Love,

Pauly

4 thoughts on “What My Bride Has Taught Me – 10 Years Down the Road

  1. Aww Hun, that was beautiful. Thank you, thank you. You made me sound pretty good….! I am equally as blessed and have grown in countless ways too, thanks to YOU. We’re a pretty good team. I love you, happy 10th.

    Like

  2. Congrats! We’re up to 9 come March. I honestly don’t know why he puts up with me, sometimes. 😉

    Marriage is one of the biggest growth opportunities I’ve known. Right up there with learning to love myself as a single woman.

    It sounds like you two are a fabulous team and you are raising two fabulous boys. Here’s to the next 10 being a walk in the park. Right? Right!

    Like

    • Hey, thanks Kristi and congrats to you two as well! Yes, these years have produced many, many opportunities for growth….some easy and some not so easy. God has blessed us beyond my expectations and for that I am grateful. Thank you, as always, for your comments and input!

      Like

Leave a Reply

