Soggy Cereal

eat me crunchy bowl in action

I was sitting down this morning to read my Bible and spend a little quiet time with God.  As usual, I poured a hot cup of coffee and had my bowl of Cinnamon Toast Crunch ready to consume.  I sat down to pray and totally spit out rushed words because……well I admit it….because I didn’t want my cereal to get soggy.  Can you believe it?  What a lame reason to hurry words to my Creator.

I know it’s human to rush time with God, but it hit me this morning…..we really do put the most menial, unimportant things ahead of our relationship with God, don’t we?

What a temptation it is to dwell on our “stuff”…..on work, on relationships, on money, on Facebook, on pain, on whatever.  In the meantime, God is waiting for us with outstretched arms….that’s the important “stuff”.

Sometimes, we just need to tell our rapid-fire minds to shut up and listen to that Still Small Voice.  I have a hard time slowing down my thoughts.  I’m an easily distracted guy.  For me, I’ve found it easier to focus early in the morning, while driving, or outside, around nature.  It’s different for everybody though.

I need to work on letting my cereal get soggy, putting aside distractions and giving God the time He deserves.  What a challenge to pursue daily.

Do you ever find yourself rushing time with God?  How have you found that focus to just be still?

God Bless,

Paul

2 thoughts on “Soggy Cereal

  1. Just a tip: you could wait to pour the milk until after you’re done. 😉
    Other than that, I can’t say I have a good grip on how I focus. Sometimes I can, other times I can’t. Another great thought provoking reminder Paul. Thanks. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

