Being Still

Nature

As human beings, I think it’s easy to focus on doing things to gain God’s blessing and approval.  We have to read our Bible for a certain amount of time.  We have to go to church every Sunday.  We have to serve in some way.  Don’t get me wrong, this is all good stuff.  I just think too much focus is put on the “doing” part.  It’s almost as though a God checklist is made and we just go down the list, checking off the boxes.  Better yet, it’s easy to think that if we don’t do these things, that God will love us less.  This is far from the truth.  He loves us because He’s God.  He is love.

Sometimes, getting caught in the “doing” can lead to apathy, exhaustion and frustration.  It’s good to pull the plug every once in a while and rest in God’s grace.

“Be still and know that I am God…”-Psalm 46:10.  I think there’s power in just stopping and being still.  To stop doing, evaluating, questioning, worrying, etc.  Sometimes, I have to purposefully shut my mouth, turn off my thoughts and just listen.  I’m not sure exactly what I’m listening for, but I usually find peace there, even clarity.

I think it’s okay to throw up our hands in surrender.  To just stop trying so hard to please God or be “holy.”  Although I think it’s great to pursue God and seek His ways, it’s so easy to make it about us.  Everyday, I have to make a conscious effort to take the focus off myself and allow God to take the lead.  Some days, I do alright, other days, I suck at it.  More of Him and less of me is what I hope for.

When was the last time you just stopped, sat in silence and listened?

God Bless,

Paul

2 thoughts on “Being Still

Leave a Reply

