Like a Child

Group of five happy children jumping outdoors.

I take a look at my two boys and I see beauty.  I see simplicity and the joy that comes along with it.  They don’t really have to worry much about the future.  As long as they’re fed, comfortable and entertained, life is all good.  Their smiles light up my heart and their laughs make it overflow.  They’re just being who God created them to be.  It’s hard to believe that I was once just like they were.

So, what happened?  I am now an adult, with adult things to think about.  I have to plan for the future and I have to do my best to take care of my family.  It seems like most of the time, simplicity has been lost.  So where did it go?  I don’t think it’s gone anywhere…..I have just changed.  I really do think that we all can still maintain a level of simplicity in life.  We just need to push the reset button on our priorities.

If I put God as priority #1, things just seem to work out better.  I understand that sometimes, life is just life.  It’s fast paced and full of things to keep us “busy”.  It’s during these times, that it’s easy to put God on the back burner.  He suddenly becomes second, while all of our other stuff takes first place.  Typically, if I am feeling uneasy, anxious and confused, it’s because my relationship with God has taken a back seat.  He simply calls us to make Him the focus and all else will fall into place.  This is tough to do at times, I admit.

Jesus calls us to have faith like a child (Luke 18:17).  Meaning that, we need to re-tune our analytical thinking to simple thinking regarding our faith.  My boys listen to what my wife and I say (most of the time).  If I explain to them how to do something, they believe it.  No questions asked.  They trust me and have faith in me.  They want to follow my lead because they know that I love them.  It’s the same way with our faith.  Jesus wants us to simply just trust Him, believe in Him and follow Him, because He loves us.

If I can somehow find a pinch of the joy that I see in my boys, I will be a happy man.  Putting Jesus 1st and all else second will get me on my way.

Where in your life do things need to be simplified?

God Bless,

Paul

5 thoughts on “Like a Child

  1. Hmmm… I think this is a great point. It’s time to simplify my Life as well. I go throughout my day as a stay at home putting everyone else first- the boys, you, others. I mean, my day rarely involves sitting down even once! Can you imagine?!?   It’s hard to simplify when you can’t catch your breath to think. But you know what- I think you’re on to something. Starting today, I too, will simplify. In fact, I’m really looking forward to it!!

    Like

    • Thanks for the comment! I truly can’t imagine. I couldn’t come close to doing the job you do as a stay at home mom. I’m looking forward to seeing you simplify some things and put yourself first. You deserve it.

      Like

  2. Pingback: A Simple Grace 022813 | Mennonite Preacher

Leave a Reply

