Falling Short

Freedom

I tell you what, it’s hard to be perfect.  Oh wait, it’s impossible to be perfect!  I’ve tried and tried over the years to come close, but I’ve finally given up on that goal.  The truth is, we all fall short.  We are all sinners and messed up in so many ways.  You know the whole 10 Commandments thing?  Man, those rules are tough to follow.  Here’s the funny part.  God knew that none of us would be able to follow those rules perfectly.  He also knew that, as we looked at those list of rules, we would realize just how small and incapable that we were and how great and powerful He is.  I think this plan is genius.  It takes the focus off our own superiority.  It helps us realize that if it wasn’t for the grace of God, we would be nothing.

“….for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God, and all are justified freely by his grace through the redemption that came by Christ Jesus.”-Romans 3:23-24.  The second part of this verse is good news.  Although we fall short daily, we are justified by His grace.  Meaning that, through Jesus Christ, we are forgiven.  We are loved.  We are thought of as righteous.  Grace is the key here.  It’s underserved and impossible to earn.  It’s a gift from a God who loves each of us, even through our sin and baggage.

Unfortunately, there are those who live in guilt and regret on a daily basis.  Sin and failure just begin to pile up and we carry so much unnecessary weight.  It chains us.  So how do we get passed that trap?  How do we truly just accept His grace and live in His love and forgiveness?  What I’ve learned so far is that it’s much more simple than we think.  I have conversations with God through prayer constantly.  I just release or list all of my fears, failures, concerns, doubts, worries, you name it.  What I do next is contrary to what I naturally desire to do; I forget about all those things and move on.  Does this mean that I’m suddenly care free with no issues surrounding me?  Heck no!  It is a daily (sometimes multiple times a day) surrender.   I am trusting that, no matter what I’ve done, I serve a God who loves me, always, unconditionally.

I expect to fall short somehow, everyday.  I do my best not to, but let’s be real here, it’s going to happen.  I walk in the grace given to me, while having hope for a future of someday hanging out with Jesus in Heaven.  That’s my fuel.

Guilt, shame and condemnation hold no place in our lives.  Release the failures, spread those arms, point that chin up, close those eyes and accept His grace.  It’s awesome.

God Bless,

Paul

Leave a Reply

